Pink Orchids

It’s no wonder that orchids symbolize luxury and fertility: just look at it. One of the most versitile and exotic flowers, orchids are a very popular in weddings. This doesn’t make them common place, however, because there are so many different kinds to choose from. Just to give you an idea, I misplaced the original picture of the orchid I was imitating so I tried to find a similar one, and these were as close as I could get:

In some cultures orchids symbolize genuine affection, and in others they represent mature love. No matter what meaning you’re going for here, the orchid fits.

If you are planning on having orchids as a part of your wedding, make sure you photograph the exact kind you want to give to your cake decorator.

The top picture is of my gum paste orchid. The middle I took myself at the Chicago Conservatory. If you haven’t been there, I highly recommend you go if you are in town.

Leave a comment